Tags

, , , , ,

8.5 x’s 8.5 Monoprint – Oil on Paper.

Sometimes it is only through my art that I see my thoughts; the ones that are buried deep in my sub-conscience. The ones that do not occupy my mind except when I create. This is a depiction of Jesus being watched by his Angel as he prepares for his resurrection. I am assuming it came about as the Christian community prepared for Easter, a celebration that has, as many other religious holidays been altered to include a fictional character with no relevance to the actual historical event.

Easter has now become a time for purple (significant to religion) bunnies (no significance) and chocolate – which is carried by the giant bunny. I prefer to see Easter as a time for renewal as we welcome a new season and look forward to green grass and balmy days.

But back to the painting – Looking closely will allow for the detail of a 2nd set of eyes and a head with a wrapping around it. A set of human eyes of which I have no knowledge of having incorporated. The dark thorn that encircles the skull is an off side focal point that forces the viewers’ eye to the likeness of Jesus. If the viewer’s interest is sparked they will then scan to see the halo and the drape of the angel’s gown.

This monoprint started with the shape of the cross. Once I saw I had made a cross I then incorporated a set of eyes, an angel (of the left weeping) and the crown of thorns – These elements were are purposeful and I was pleased with the quality of the print. It really wasn’t until I had photographed it and examined it on a computer screen that I saw the human. I have gone back to it – trying to recognise the look and have not been able to link that set of eyes to anyone I know

I have attempted to circle the part I am speaking of. Each time I look at it I am somewhat taken aback. It reminds me that there are forces beyond our own human ones that serve to remind us to take a closer look sometimes and listen to the message being sent.

This and other artwork and poems can be found in my new release ‘5 Pillars of the Gypsy’ published by Inspiration Import.

Lesley Rose coloured glasses suit my face. Forcing the look in.

