Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Vincent van Gogh, The Starry Night. Oil on can...

Vincent van Gogh, The Starry Night. Oil on canvas, 73×92 cm, 28¾×36¼ in. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Of course my moods change, but the average is serenity. I have a firm faith in art, a firm confidence in its being a powerful stream which carries a man to a harbor, though he himself must do his bit too; at all events, I think it such a great blessings. Vincent van Gogh

Cafe Terrace at Night

Cafe Terrace at Night (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My little 5×5 inch piece of work is tucked in between two of  Master Artist Vincent van Gogh. What nerve of me to think my art can compare to his!

Of course I am not comparing at all and anyone who knows me would be on the floor laughing at the audacity of the thought. What I can compare though is MOOD. As van Gogh’s quotation points out his general mood is serenity which reflects in his art, as is mine. But, I look at my ‘Pink’ piece I see that I did not possess an ounce of serenity that day and produced a piece that was not ‘me’. I actually like when that happens.

I enjoy stepping out of my comfort zone, taking chances, forcing myself to use colours I am not usually fond of and most of all, putting my mood into my art, releasing emotions in a creative fashion.

The Arts – art is sensuous and imaginal and comes to seekers in many forms. The art of dance, cooking, writing. The art of doing nothing, listening, searching. Art is Life and Life is Art. It is up to each of us to seek out our own path of creativity to help us find personal peace and discovery, to tame our foal moods and escape reality from time to time or conversely share our joy and love of life.

What is your ART?

If you have not seen the video The paintings of Vincent Van Gogh set to Don McLean’s “Starry Starry Night” do yourself a favour and take 4 minutes to feed your soul today and perhaps point you in the direction of your own harbour. Lesley xx

