Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

With all the lessons left behind her for the moment, the Gypsy let herself imagine. She felt herself being swept into the caverns of her own mind where life was tender and easy. Where angels flew and fairies danced. Leaving reality behind was a gift she bestowed upon herself to give herself room for growth and absorption. She started simply by walking along a path that she had seen many times but had chosen not to venture. The gypsy had always been adverse to getting her feet wet, but this time was different. What would happen that would be so bad if she did get her feet wet? What she found delighted her and fed her soul along with her imagination. She felt that this moment may define her future but had no basis for this feeling except pure intuition. It was time to trust again. Time to trust the universe. Time to trust herself. Time to get her feet wet. Time to take a path less chosen and experience the awareness of her gypsy soul.

 

The Angel Path

I stepped on all the stones
To make my way across the stream
Not to feel the water
On my toes and in between.

The stones were laid out perfectly
In zigzags and in rows
That’s when it occurred to me:
They know the path I chose!

Suddenly those simple stones
transformed before my eyes
Taking on illumination
That shot up to the skies.

The water formed a circle
That was very clear to see
It took the shape of halos
And lit the crooked path for me.

How lovely of my angels
To guide me, hold my hand
This simple little journey
Now deserved a band.

And suddenly from nowhere
Sweet music fills the night
If it wasn’t so delightful
I’d surely get a fright.

Then the lights changed colours
Flashing softly off and on
With shades of turquoise, orange, pink
I heard the angel’s song.

Quite enchanted with the tune
I danced with some abandon
In the moonlight with the stars,
Nothing weighed me down.

Floating now across the water
Taking in the light show
Why this happened here and now
I intend to know…

One day I think I’ll ask them
One day when I am bored
But right now’s not the right time,

I’ll let the reason stay ignored.

 

“Nobody tells this to people who are beginners, I wish someone told me. All of us who do creative work, we get into it because we have good taste. But there is this gap. For the first couple years you make stuff, it’s just not that good. It’s trying to be good, it has potential, but it’s not. But your taste, the thing that got you into the game, is still killer. And your taste is why your work disappoints you. A lot of people never get past this phase, they quit. Most people I know who do interesting, creative work went through years of this. We know our work doesn’t have this special thing that we want it to have. We all go through this. And if you are just starting out or you are still in this phase, you gotta know its normal and the most important thing you can do is do a lot of work. Put yourself on a deadline so that every week you will finish one story. It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap, and your work will be as good as your ambitions. And I took longer to figure out how to do this than anyone I’ve ever met. It’s gonna take awhile. It’s normal to take awhile. You’ve just gotta fight your way through.”
– Ira Glass

