Tags

, , , , , , , ,

file0001225342301

Taking my own wise advice has sometimes presented a problem. While I can be quick to dole it out and demonstrate how important it is to relax, listen, pull back, meditate, and basically enjoy life, I somehow drop the ball myself. Each day brings a challenge as I constantly remind myself of my own rules and philosophies – one of them being don’t be too hard on yourself!

Well I managed, while on vacation to completely submerge myself in nothingness. My phone was off. There was no WIFI connection. Not even a camera being toted around. I spent 11 days letting the southern January wind blow through one ear and out the other. In fact my head was so clear that I accomplished absolutely nothing. Almost nothing. I do admit to carrying a couple of pieces of paper and a pencil as a just in case so while sipping Spanish Coffees in the late morning, early afternoon, late afternoon and early evening I contributed to a play I had started before leaving. And that’s all folks!

Relaxing to the point of nothingness has taken its tole on me as I find myself still in a bit of a lazy mode. Before taking a break I realize I had come to a point where I was not creating the way I love to. The Internet and all it had to offer seemed to rule my days. I didn’t want to miss a thing and as a result burnt out from an excess of information. Yes, each and every post I read and article and video and photo provided delight and knowledge but kept me from my own muse instead of enhancing it.

muse

/myo͞oz/

Verb
Be absorbed in thought.
Noun
An instance or period of reflection.
Synonyms
meditate – ponder – contemplate – ruminate – think

I have often been asked how I keep up and I can now say in all honestly – I don’t anymore … so I know that I have to change my ways a bit. My 30% social media time was based on a 12 hour at-the-computer-day. Twelve hours is too much isn’t it? So now it will change to a 6 hour computer day to include *writing time (oh goodness gracious No Internet??) of which I will allocate the 30% – I believe doing this will provide a better balance. Prior to now: Gym? what gym. Volunteer? down to 1.5 hours. Social? once a week (2 hours) Learning? dunno 🙂 Art? Iffy. Lunch? watsat?

This will all change because I took my own advice and LISTENED TO NOTHINGNESS for 10 full days. I highly recommend this type of listening for those who struggle to keep up. Keep up with what?

angel shhhh

Have a great weekend everyone – It is nice to be back (too) Les

Alan Watts describes the state of nothingness.

