Tags

, , , , , , ,

gif-wind

My sidelong glance lasted longer than it should have as I took in her essence. Sixteen, carefree, spirited and without a single flaw in my eyes.

I want to marry her and spoil her and be her slave. She senses my feelings but is oh so careful with her commitment. Who would blame her? I am a nice guy. Everyone says so. But it is not enough to keep her around until she grows up.

She rode like the wind today with her hair flying and laughter filling the fields. I followed on my horse barely able to keep up.  I fell in love with her.

It was 1974. Ringo Starr was playing on the radio. I took it as a sign as she and I yelled out the words together… you’re sixteen, you’re beautiful and you’re mine.

The day must have turned my usual cool thinking to mush as I put the key in the lock of my apartment door and let her in. Two of my good friends were there with my room mate. I mustn’t have been thinking.

‘Let me introduce you to my girlfriend’, I blurted out.

And then I saw her eyes. They were no longer smiling and blue grey. They were green and flashing. My heart sunk and there was no way to cover up. She had made it clear that we were friends only and she didn’t need or want a boyfriend.

The following week, I waited for her to call. She didn’t call so I called her.

When I hung up the phone, I quickly wrote a poem and went to buy a red rose. My car was in her driveway before I had time to think.

The last lines said it all.

My heart’s only bruised, It’s not really broken

So give me a call, I’d sure love to go dancin’.

I lied.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Free Write Friday is hosted by Kellie Elmore. More posts related to this Free Write can be found HERE
I haven’t been able to keep up with my schedule so have been unable to contribute for a while so today I find myself really happy to take part. The rules are simple and everyone can play! Personally, I am challenged by the fact there is no editing allowed. What you write is what you post. It is very exhilarating to complete and discover where my mind took me. It’s a great way to find your own way and test the courage in your

