Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi all, I am unsure if I have posted this before. It is a song I wrote for a woman who in her teens became pregnant and gave the child up for adoption. Skip many years down the road and she can be found with her boyfriend at the time, but now happily married for many years. They were successful in finding their adopted daughter. It is a beautiful story of love and of hope.

Pink Pumpkins

 

In my arms you are cradled

My beautiful girl

Eyes blue as my own

Meeting with mine and locking my soul

You will enter the world

Loved and beloved

Without my hand in yours
Without my hand in yours

 

Each year that you grow I do promise 

To paint a pink pumpkin

And fill it with rose buds tied up with gold bows

I”ll add in the babies breath  I once felt on my neck

And hold out my hand 

And pretend you are home

 

From my arms you are taken

My beautiful girl

But our eyes meet once again

For a final farewell

You will enter the world

Loved and beloved

With my heart in your hands

With my heart in your hands

 

Each year that you grow I do promise

To paint a pink pumpkin

And fill it with rose buds tied up with gold bows

I”ll add in the babies breath  I once felt on my neck

And hold out my hand 

And pretend you are home

 

Sweet child of my heart 

Add the love of your father

May you stay healthy and lovely 

With a life filled with hope

Know that we love you 

And never you’ll part 

As we hold hands together 

In dreams every night

As together we love you

Your father and I

 

Now we are together as I always dreamt

You, me your brothers your sister and dad 

Together we’ll paint that pumpkin pink

And fill it with rose buds tied up with gold bows

I”ll add in the babies breath  I once felt on my neck

And hold out my hand 

And know that you’re home.

Lesley Fletcher is a writer (freelance, books, content, lyrics,stage plays) as well as a visual artist specializing in monoprinting. To learn more about her please visit the tabs here on WordPress or her website athttp://www.LesleyFletcher.com

