Tags

, , , , , , ,

Remember, if you ever need a helping hand, it’s at the end of your arm, as you get older, remember you have another hand: The first is to help yourself, the second is to help others.”
― Sam Levenson author

Habitat for Humanity offers the chance to make a difference in the lives of others around the globe or in your own back yard. There are two basic needs in life: Food and Shelter. For some people the rest of life’s needs fall to a back burner as they strive for the two biggies. 

Pictured above is me working on a rock garden in Ghor al Safi, Jordan. As the hours passed and the older children returned from school more and more children gathered and worked their little legs and arms to produce the best rocks they could find. The sheer size and weight of the rocks was of no consequence to my lovely little helpers. How gratifying it was to see them burst with pride at producing the biggest rocks!

I had needed to get down to the ground because I was getting dizzy on the scafolding. Feeling rather useless I came up with some busy-work for myself. There is a tremendous water shortage in Jordan. Every single drop is re-used whenever possible so these palms were watered by dishwater but in the desert heat the water would promptly evaporate. With permission of the home owner and the building manager I installed six rock-garden bases around the trees, figuring that it would keep the weeds to a minimum and serve as a water retainer. It seemed to be received as a novel idea…

I have visions of visiting there in a few years to find improvements on my rudimentary attempts scattered through all the homes in the village as it has an abundance of natural rocks.

HABITAT CANADA

HABITAT GLOBAL

